The Gambia: airport fees and taxes
This is the country index for The Gambia: 1 airport and 6 passenger charges currently tracked. The airport pages contain the payment instructions, source links and dated change logs.
Airports covered
How charges are paid
Payment methods differ by charge. Across the records for The Gambia, the published methods include:
- Cash in US dollars or Gambian dalasi at the airport. Not in the ticket. UK travel advice says Visa cards may be accepted, but card machines are often out of service.
- Inside the ticket
- Not stated
Charge comparison
Banjul International Airport (BJL)
Passengers at Banjul International Airport pay a US$20 airport security fee on arrival and another US$20 on departure, so US$40 for a return trip. Diplomatic and service passport holders are exempt. The fee is not in your air ticket. You pay it at a booth in the terminal, in cash. The fee has been collected since September 2020 under a government contract. Other charges, such as the passenger service charge, are added to your ticket by the airline.
| Charge | Amount | Who pays | How paid | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airport security fee (Immigration and Security System levy) | US$20 each way | All arriving and departing passengers. Diplomatic and service passport holders do not pay. UK travel advice says children aged 1 or under and transit passengers are exempt. | Cash in US dollars or Gambian dalasi at the airport. Not in the ticket. UK travel advice says Visa cards may be accepted, but card machines are often out of service. | In force |
| Passenger service charge | £10 | Departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Security charge | £1.50 | Departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Airport development fee | €20 | Departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Passenger safety levy | US$5 (announced) | Departing passengers | Inside the ticket | Unconfirmed |
| Banjul Accord Group passenger safety charge | US$1 | Passengers on international departures | Not stated | Unconfirmed |
Last checked 19 October 2026. Open the complete airport record, payment guidance and sources.