Sierra Leone: airport fees and taxes
This is the country index for Sierra Leone: 1 airport and 7 passenger charges currently tracked. The airport pages contain the payment instructions, source links and dated change logs.
Also tracked: 1 suspended and 0 proposed charge. These are shown for planning but are not treated as payable now.
Airports covered
How charges are paid
Payment methods differ by charge. Across the records for Sierra Leone, the published methods include:
- Was paid online, by mobile money or at Ecobank, UBA and SLCB counters
- Inside the ticket
- Not stated
Charge comparison
Freetown International Airport (Lungi) (FNA)
Since 6 July 2026 passengers at Freetown International Airport do not pay the US$25 airport security fee. The Ministry of Internal Affairs suspended it until further notice so the contract can be reviewed and Audit Service Sierra Leone can carry out a special audit. The systems contract has not ended and airport operations continue. Other charges, such as the passenger service charge, are still added to your ticket.
| Charge | Amount | Who pays | How paid | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airport security fee | US$25 each way | Inbound and outbound passengers. Diplomatic passport holders exempt. | Was paid online, by mobile money or at Ecobank, UBA and SLCB counters | Suspended |
| Passenger service charge | US$35 | International departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Airport development charge | US$102 (2026) | International departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Aviation security charge | US$39 | International departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Airport safety fee | US$65 | International departing passengers | Inside the ticket | Unconfirmed |
| Air navigation charge | US$20 | International departing passengers | Inside the ticket | In force |
| Banjul Accord Group passenger safety charge | US$1 | Passengers on international departures | Not stated | Unconfirmed |
Last checked 19 October 2026. Open the complete airport record, payment guidance and sources.