Passenger Fees
EN · FR · ES

Abidjan airport fees: what you pay at ABJ

Passengers leaving Abidjan pay several charges listed on the ASECNA AIP page for Côte d'Ivoire, in force from 4 September 2025. The passenger charge is 30,000 FCFA on flights outside ECOWAS and 12,000 FCFA to an ECOWAS airport. A security charge adds 12,500 FCFA outside ECOWAS or 10,000 FCFA within it. The page lists a 3,000 FCFA hotel tax on flights leaving the country, a 4,000 to 5,000 FCFA safety charge and a 1,000 FCFA local tax on tickets issued in Côte d'Ivoire.

Last checked: Félix Houphouët-Boigny International Airport · ABJ

Every charge at this airport

Félix Houphouët-Boigny International Airport passenger charges
ChargeAmountWho paysHow it is paidSet byCollected by / goes toStatus
Passenger charge, departing Abidjan to an airport outside ECOWAS
Amended 4 September 2025 1
30,000 FCFAPassengers departing AbidjanNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force
Passenger charge, departing Abidjan to an ECOWAS airport
Amended 4 September 2025 1
12,000 FCFAPassengers departing AbidjanNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force
Passenger charge, departing Abidjan to another Ivorian airport
The page table places 3,000 FCFA on a separate line from the domestic heading, so the match is not certain 1
3,000 FCFAPassengers departing Abidjan on domestic flightsNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageUnconfirmed
Passenger charge for connecting passengers at Abidjan 11,500 FCFA domestic, 6,000 FCFA ECOWAS, 15,000 FCFA otherPassengers connecting at AbidjanNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force
Security charge (sûreté) 112,500 FCFA outside ECOWAS, 10,000 FCFA ECOWAS, 2,000 FCFA domesticPassengers boarding at AbidjanNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force
Safety charge (sécurité)
The page lists arrival and departure together and does not say if it is charged once or each way 1
5,000 FCFA outside ECOWAS, 4,000 FCFA ECOWASFull-fare passengers over 12, on arrival or departureNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force
Hotel tax
Nil on domestic flights 1
3,000 FCFAPassengers boarding for an airport outside Côte d'IvoireNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force
Local tax (taxe communale) 11,000 FCFAPassengers boarding at Abidjan with a ticket issued in Côte d'IvoireNot stated on the page, normally inside the ticketIvorian authorities, published in the ASECNA AIPNot stated on the AIP pageIn force

Evidence summary: 1 linked source, 7 charges confirmed in force, 1 unconfirmed. Suspended and proposed charges are not treated as payable now.

How to pay

  1. Look for these charges in the taxes section of your ticket.
  2. The AIP page does not describe a cash desk for passengers.
  3. VIP lounge access is a separate optional fee listed on the same page.

What this page does not cover

This page does not cover visa fees and is not legal advice. Fees change: check the date above and your ticket receipt before you travel.

Common questions

How much is the departure charge at Abidjan airport?

For a flight outside ECOWAS the passenger charge is 30,000 FCFA and the security charge 12,500 FCFA, per the ASECNA AIP page in force from 4 September 2025.

Do ECOWAS flights cost less?

Yes. The passenger charge is 12,000 FCFA and the security charge 10,000 FCFA for flights to an ECOWAS airport.

What do connecting passengers pay at Abidjan?

The page lists 1,500 FCFA for domestic, 6,000 FCFA for ECOWAS and 15,000 FCFA for other onward flights.

Sources

  1. ASECNA eAIP: GEN 4.3 Redevances, Côte d'Ivoire (page in force from 4 Sep 2025)

Change log

  • : Page published. Figures checked against the sources listed.